Consumer Reports published a study that reports finding fecal bacteria in bagged salads!  Never again will I fall victim to believing that “pre-washed” or “triple-washed” means that I can just pour my bagged salad into a bowl and start chomping.  Now that I think about, it makes sense that there would be a lot of opportunities for the greens to become contaminated during the production process.  During its journey from the farm, to the factory, to the supermarket, the greens are likely to be exposed to animals, manure, chemical washes, and other pathogens.  In fact, I remember last September when there was a recall on loose spinach due to Salmonella contamination.  Of course there are government regulations and voluntary programs to ensure these natural greens remain a healthy food for us to eat.  However, it doesn’t hurt to be on safe side and make sure that we are washing our foods, even if the bag says it was quadruple-washed, before we enjoy a healthy salad. 

